Parur M.S. Anantharaman

Carnatic Musicians
Sam Swaminathan

Post by Sam Swaminathan »

I am an ardent fan of the Parur family. I have been following the Parur brothers since I was eight years old when I started playing the violin. I have attended the concert of the brothers when they were accompanying their father Pujya Sri Sundaram Iyer. Many splendid evenings have been spent listening to them at the Thiagraja Swami Samajam in Mylapore.

I picked up the attached picture from Chennaionline site and I got a pleasant shock ! Am I missing some thing here?

I would be very pleased if rasikas in our org could throw light on this

Thanks and regards

Sam

Last edited by Sam Swaminathan on 06 May 2007, 14:03, edited 1 time in total.

Sathej

Post by Sathej »

The picture is evidently a mirror image. There can be no other reasonable explanation.Shri MS Anantharaman does not play left handed.
Shri MSA is an extremely presevering man with a great spirit.He is one of the few senior violinists today who still accompanies vocalists who are by far his juniors.By the way,I am learning to play the violin from his son Shri MA Sundareswaran.
Sathej

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

Dad

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

Two of sons , in a famous group photo

Sam Swaminathan

By the way, any one thinking that I am pulling a fast one.....:) here is the actual link to the chennaionline site...

http://chennaionline.com/music/Carnatic ... usic15.asp

Cheers........................Sam

Sam Swaminathan

Coolji

Lovely photo....I can see lalgudi Sir and of course the brothers.....do I see Balachander sir in the background at the last row? By the way, who are the other violinists incl the lady in the front ?

cheers

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

Kandadevi AlagiriSwami to the right of Lalgudi.
Yes that is Balchander indeed.
Behind MSG, It must V Thyagarajan(bespectacled)
The lady ... a tough one.

T Rukmini if I have to go by the bunch of Kanakambara flowers
or was that Lalgudi Srimathi ??