Learn Violin or Mridangam at around 40 yrs of age?

Miscellaneous topics on Carnatic music
raj-123

Post by raj-123 »

I live in California Bay area now and there are violin/mridangam teachers in the area, I have not contacted any but I know there are teachers. I am also not sure if they take beginner level students. My question for experts is if given a choice to learn a instrumental form at age 40+ for male, what is preferable - violin or mridangam. I listen to lot of carnatic music, but have no formal training. I also plan to return to India in few years to Chennai and would lke to continue there learning. In past few years I have thought about this, then I leave it for fear of unknowns and effort required. Any thoughts or opinions welcome.

Nick H

Post by Nick H »

I started learning mridangam when I was over 40.

I'll pass on my teacher's opinion that, had I practised and studied properly I couold have been a good player and a good teacher. The fact that I let it drop is not really anything to do with age, I don't think, although I won't deny that a bright young fresh brain helps.

UKS has a student in his seventies.

I think that person in your situation of any age should remember that there are not only two kinds of music student: professional performers and failures. That misconception, even if only semi-conscious, puts a lot of people off doing any learning at all.

I went as a music student for the sole reason that I wanted to understand a little more about what I was seeing on stage. I never wanted or expected to play on stage. The fact that I did, quite often, albeit with children, was an amazing bonus.

You can learn music to your own level, to your own satisfaction, although you must, of course, find a teacher who admits of this too.

I am sure you will find teachers who will take you as a beginner. Some teachers would rather have a 40-yr-old novice than someone who has been learning bad habits of a bad teacher for two decades!