Carnatic Music Workshop & Concert - Carnatica Brothers, Irvi

Review the latest concerts you have listened to.
smrithi6

Post by smrithi6 »

This is not exactly a concert review. I am an ardent fan of carnatic music. Though I am not a performing artist and I really am no scholar in Carnatic music, I am a dedicated listener, and I revere and appreciate good music and melody. And so, I thought I should share my experience regarding a concert I attended recently. I really love this forum and I had always wanted to contribute something here.. so here goes.. :)

By God’s grace, I was really fortunate to attend the carnatic music workshop and concert by the Carnatica Brothers(Shri KN Shashikiran and Shri P.Ganesh) at the Ekta Arts Center in Irvine, California on the 31st August 2008. They were accompanied by Shiva Ramamurthy on the violin and Nirmal Narayan on the mridangam.

One of the most beautiful and amazing concerts I have ever attended!!

Right before the event, I got a chance to attend the workshop which was conducted by the Carnatica Brothers. It was divided into junior and senior so that people could choose based on their level of knowledge and interest and benefit from the workshop.

I went for the junior workshop which was given by Shri KN Shashikiran. It was on voice and vocal chords training, how to sing full throated etc... We had a couple of exercises to do as well. It was really nice. One and a half hours of singing!! I thoroughly enjoyed it. At the end of the workshop, we were taught a very nice song (Shambho Gangadhara.. Chandrashekara) composed by Gopalakrishna Bharati in Ishamanohari ragam. It was a wonderful experience!! There were a lot of children at the workshop. I must admit...... Shri KN Shashikiran is really good with kids... :) I really loved the workshop!!!!

The senior workshop was on manodharma singing, where the alapanai, kalpana swarams and neraval techniques were explained. This was conducted by Shri P. Ganesh.