Revathi Uses

Rāga related discussions
bdeepu

Post by bdeepu »

Namaste,

Being essentially a pathos/soulful/deep raga, here is Revathi used to give a "Roudra" (terrible/angry) rasam: http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=BP8zjJXtzYQ.

Any other such examples respected Rasikas can provide?

kishorepalle

Post by kishorepalle »

Hello Deepu, I feel like, Revati raga if sung or played at a slower pace gives it the pathos touch and sometimes is great from emotional quotient and anguish like chandrakauns. Please see this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USo9EUJwDAM

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

Last edited by coolkarni on 24 Nov 2009, 10:19, edited 1 time in total.

Sam Swaminathan

Post by Sam Swaminathan »

Lovely Coolji....thank you..

twister

Post by twister »

Dear rasikas,

I've came up with a new question, a kind answer to which I hope to find here - among your community.

I'm just beginning to explore the beauty and infinity of the raga world, and the main question is regarding raga elaboration. I know that this comletely depends of the actual raga being exploring, but I believe that there should be some more or less universal regulaity in this. In particular, now I stuck to the Revathi raga, as it is pentatonic and sounds nice to me (as I am a westerner). I hope, by catching the basic principals of elaborating of this beautiful five note raga, to built a ground solid enough to get to the sanpoorna stuff.

Ok, there is not so much in the web, which I can get access to, but I've found a certain framework example of how this raga is hmmm "batched", and it looks like this:

S r M P n S'
n P M r.S r n r S

S r M r M P
M P n P n S

S n P n P M
P M r M r S

no n:
S r S M r M r P
S P M r S r M P

no S:
r M r P M P M n
r n P M r M P n

M P M n P n P S
M S n P M P n S

S n S P n P n M
S M P n S n P M

no S:
n P n M P M P r
n r M P n P M r

no n:
P M P r M r M S
P S r M P M r S