where to practice vocal

Miscellaneous topics on Carnatic music
jyothi69

where to practice vocal

Post by jyothi69 »

Hi all, I'm new to Rasika's, thank you for the admins for letting me in. I have asked this question several musicians but I did not get a proper ( or you can say satisfactory) answer. My question is " Is it better to practice vocal music in an open setting ( like verandah or open ceiling room) or in a confined 12x12 feet room, and WHY?" Did anyone notice that it does make a difference or it's just me? if I get an answer, it helps me to be a better singer. Thank you.

thenpaanan

Re: where to practice vocal

Post by thenpaanan »

jyothi69 wrote: 08 Jan 2018, 04:01 Hi all, I'm new to Rasika's, thank you for the admins for letting me in. I have asked this question several musicians but I did not get a proper ( or you can say satisfactory) answer. My question is " Is it better to practice vocal music in an open setting ( like verandah or open ceiling room) or in a confined 12x12 feet room, and WHY?" Did anyone notice that it does make a difference or it's just me? if I get an answer, it helps me to be a better singer. Thank you.
I guess it depends on what you are looking to gain. When you say "better singer" can you elaborate? Unfortunately we do not have good tangible standards on good singing in CM and so there is no baseline to compare with. Could you say a bit more on what your desirable qualities are?

-Thenpaanan

ratanabhinav

Post by ratanabhinav »

At a place where you would be able to hear yourself well . At a place where the quality f the music produced would be made more beautiful by the natural / artificial acoustics at the place .
Regards

jyothi69

Post by jyothi69 »

thenpaanan wrote: 08 Jan 2018, 22:30