Carnatic classes online- Problems

To teach and learn Indian classical music
VRV

Carnatic classes online- Problems

Post by VRV »

Hello Everyone,
I know there are many teachers who teach Carnatic music online. I know each teacher has their own method of teaching. Has anyone had the experience where the teacher does not turn on the webcam, or send notations for the classes, or send recordings of the songs? I met 2 teachers like this, and would just like to know if it is just normal, because I am a beginner, and it is not easy to learn talam without video, and not all notations can be found online.

Thanks,
Meera

sreevin25

Re: Carnatic classes online- Problems

Post by sreevin25 »

No Meera. In fact, there are so many online teaching classes there are that there needs to be set a protocol for that soon.

You should ask for notations, webcam and recordings. Many teachers might say they don't need a webcam until alankaram. And they would also say there is no software with them to record. Though, I can't say they should send recording, I would suggest you to look for a teacher who can do all the 3 mentioned.

Not only this, all teachers have their own rate card as well - though we can't force everyone to have same price, we can make our own choice whether we want to take up from them or not.

Which stage of classes are you in? Which part of the world are u located at?

If you are still having issues, msg me offline, I shall recommend you one of the teachers that I personally have contact with.

Meeraj

Post by Meeraj »

Thanks for your reply, Sreevin25,
I have learnt till Varnams currently, and I am looking for a good teacher. I have been really unsuccessful, because of the problems above. Plus as you said, there are teachers who are good and I cannot afford:-(
I don't know how to msg you offline, wish I could. I'm located in the US.

- Meera

mkranthikiran

Post by mkranthikiran »