Carnatic Music Teachers - Can technology help them?

To teach and learn Indian classical music
Shyamala Rangarajan

Carnatic Music Teachers - Can technology help them?

Post by Shyamala Rangarajan »

As a teacher of Carnatic Music (Vocal), I face a real challenge for which I wonder whether technology can offer a solution. Our member Smt Radhika Rajnarayan (RADEL) or any one with IT background can perhaps help me with a solution. Now coming to the problem – I have a heterogeneous group of students - children, young boys and girls and grown up men and women. Their sruthis vary from 1 kattai to 6 kattai, whereas my basic sruthi is 4.5. As a teacher I need to teach my students in their sruthis. This practice puts a lot of strain on my vocal chords. This is where I want technology to help me and other similarly placed teachers.

Is there an appliance available for changing the sruthis? When I teach my students in my own comfortable 4.5 kattai, the instrument should convert my vocal output into input for students in 1 kattai to 6 kattai, as needed by the individual students. Typically the instrument would have input/outputs thro Head phones at both the teacher and student ends. The instrument should have a simple controller for selecting the input/output sruthis.

Such a mechanism is a felt need of music teachers. If no such instrument is available at present, I suggest that organizations like RADEL could design one.

vidya raja

Re: Carnatic Music Teachers - Can technology help them?

Post by vidya raja »

Ms Shyamala Rangarajan,

The sonic foundry sound editing software has this feature where you can decrease the pitch or increase the pitch after recording it in your convenient shruthi. The recording has to then be saved in different pitches and then distributed to the students . I am not aware about the instant change (input /output ) though.
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/soundforgesoftware

Shyamala Rangarajan