strengthening tala

Tālam & Layam related topics
babaji

Post by babaji »

dear friends

if one has to reasonably master control over tala.develop layajnanam to a level where we don't lose the beat or lose concentration of beat and using that to bring it into singing,tthen what kind of practice must we perform especially singers who want to develop this,i am a singer and if i want to develop talam then what must i practice.i would like a simplied answer.in the sense it could be understood even by me.that is i am a layman right now in tala.how i understand is how i will implement.i need your advice on this.

vasanthakokilam

Post by vasanthakokilam »

We have the best teacher in the house on such matters, Shri msakella. Here are two resources for you.

http://www.rasikas.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=2462

AMS Easy Methods CD whose contents have been made available by him for free download.
http://www.rasikas.org/forums/viewtopic.php?pid=44229

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

Brands of Thala guaranteed to strengthen us .
:D
Boy ! I listened to this clip yesterday for the first time,
Got so energised that I felt like a WWF Champion myself.
Of course this is from True Champions !
Unbelievable Stuff ....
http://rapidshare.com/files/75511299/Thani.mp3
Last edited by coolkarni on 10 Dec 2007, 08:51, edited 1 time in total.

Suji Ram

Post by Suji Ram »

coolkarni wrote:Brands of Thala guaranteed to strengthen us .
:D
Boy ! I listened to this clip yesterday for the first time,
Got so energised that I felt like a WWF Champion myself.
Of course this is from True Champions !
Unbelievable Stuff ....
http://rapidshare.com/files/75511299/Thani.mp3
who is the artist? the mridangam has metallic sound.

coolkarni

Post by coolkarni »

UKS
Kishen Maharaj
KGS

sankirnam

Post by sankirnam »

...wow, thanks for the upload, Coolkarni! I've been looking for jugalbandhi thanis or concerts featuring UKS sir, and this is vintage!