listening carnatic kutcheri

Ideas and innovations in Indian classical music
key

Post by key »

can any one suggest me how to listen a kutcheri , when (and what is ) will a niraval , swaram appear , what is kizhkallam and malekallam , what is a vivvadhi , when is a tishram used , etc etc etc., i am a ordinary basic listener ( layman) in carnatic music. going to concerts for 3 years regularly , hearing in LPs , cassette and cds started from my younger days.
Last edited by key on 16 Jan 2010, 07:03, edited 1 time in total.

Nick H

Post by Nick H »

Key, I have been listening to carnatic music for maybe 15 years or more, and yet I too am still unsure of of many basic things, like the division of the song into its parts, and which part is being sung at any one time. There are expert rasikas on this forum who, with fewer years, are able to list songs, ragas, and discuss concerts with erudition, where I just give my subjective, emotional response. We all travel the learning curve at different rates. Of course, it is true too that some put in greater effort and concentration.

Please be happy, which is the prime purpose of listening to music! The details will reveal themselves in time. My particular advancement of this season is that I noticed myself simply knowing that neraval or swara was about to come. Just one small advance! I'm a layman too, although, having been to mridangam class, I ought to be a layaman!

What you can't expect, really, is for anyone to answer your post with "the book on carnatic music for beginners" --- because you ask about almost everything! I've found that, in different forums on different subjects, that the best results come from more specific enquiries.

There is so much information here already, and elsewhere on the net --- and even google/wikipedia will help with many of the basic definitions! I don't recall where to find them, but there are at least a couple of comprehensive primers that are well worth reading.

arasi

Post by arasi »