A novice question

To teach and learn Indian classical music
shankar47119

Post by shankar47119 »

Hello,
I'm an utter novice trying to better understand some basics; no background at all in Carnatic.
Pls pardon the naivete of the question.
(I'm cutting and pasting the lyrics portions and the raga sequence descriptions, required below in my question, from other websites)

My specific question is the following:
When we listen to a krithi, and note that it is in a raga, say, shanmukhapriya, is there a mapping between the words (syllables) that make up the stanzas in the krithi, and the swara-sequence description of the raga?

Example:
Krithi: the "Ketu" krithi from navagraha krithis of Dikshithar
It reads:
rAga: shanmukhapriyA (cAmaram) / tAla: rUpaka

mahAsuraM ketum ahaM bhajAmi chAyagrahavaram ..... (and so on...)

Shanmukhapriya swara-sequence goes:
56 shanmugapriyA mela
Aa: S R2 G2 M2 P D1 N2 S
Av: S N2 D1 P M2 G2 R2 S

So my question then is:
Is there a mapping from say, {S R2 G2 M2 P D1 N2 S} to appropriate words/syllables that make up the song?
i.e. the words/syllables in: mahAsuraM ketum ahaM bhajAmi chAyagrahavaram .....
i.e. if say, "S" maps to say "ma" in the word mahAsuraM, then the "ma" in mahAsuraM is sung at the frequency of S.
likewise, if "S" maps to "ma", then does R2 map to "hA" in mahAsuraM, and so on?

So if the Krithi is fully notated, will we see "S" above "ma", R2 above "hA", G2 above "su" and so on?
Am I even making sense?

It always confuses me that when a Raga is described, it is described in terms of sa, ri, ga, ma...
But the words/syllables in the song have all sorts of other syllables, like sha, ka, bha, etc.
So is the mapping is a frequency mapping, as asked above?

pranaam,
shankar

arunk

Post by arunk »

shankar,

not quite. Yes in that if the ma in mahAsuram maps to sa, then it is indeed sung in the pitch of sa. But it does not imply that the next swara must be ri and then ga etc.

The arohana/avarohana of
S R2 G2 M2 P D1 N2 S