What really happened?

Miscellaneous topics on Carnatic music

Post by Guest »

Chembai

We were on tenterhooks for a while. What really happened? Was there a Virus problem? Hope we can post as freely as before. Please tell us if there are any restraints. Can the membership community help in any way?

GOOD LUCK! And thanks for all your troubles to keep us informed on CM and the lively discussions as also for the enlightening information you provide.

Post by Guest »

dear sir,

I think all previous posts on various topics got erased (since posts show :No: message.
whether possibe to retrieve them again.

to start from zero is a strain.

ksiyer

Post by Guest »

Thanks for asking. Before updating the site I took several backups of the database containing all the previous posts, users etc.

Then I tried to convert the site into a more broadbased portal with several new features. However, there were several problems that could not be addressed, and I am no computer expert. I tried for the last two weeks without any progress.

So I decided to switch it back to plain old forums (without a portal interface). I then tried to restore the database with the old posts and users etc... but it seems the database is corrupted with no possibility of bringing back the old topics which were discussed.

I am sorry for the loss of those valuable topics and the pain of re-registration which you may be going through, but it is beyond repair now. Let us discuss fresh topics and need not post the same things all over again.

Thanks for your patience and good wishes. Hopefully there will be no more major updates at least for the next 1 year, and even if there is, I will ensure that I do not disturb this forum in any way.

Post by Guest »

Dear SRK,

don't worry. we are all not experts in this field. all these will be a lesson for future.

we will start afresh.

Carnatic music is divine. You cannot (rather should not) attain divine pleasure so easily.

have to undergo some troubles .