Private lessons in Trivandrum?

To teach and learn Indian classical music
randyf3

Post by randyf3 »

Hello. I am new to this forum, so please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Randy and I am an American graduate student living in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. I will be spending 2 months in Trivandrum, Kerala this summer. I am an untrained musician who plays guitar, drums, and bass in a rock band, but I would really like to take some private music lessons while I'm in Kerala this summer. My primary interest is in tabla, although I'm open to learning how to play any traditional Indian musical instrument.
So my question is, does anybody here know how or where I can find private music lessons? If you have any information, please get in touch with me at randyf3 at gmail dot com.
Thank you.

mohan

Post by mohan »

Randy, the Tharanginisari Music School in Trivandrum which was established by the famous musician KJ Yesudas teaches Western music as well as North and South Indian music. They teach a range of instruments including tabla. You can contact them by phone on +91-471-6578075; Mobile: +91 9447171714

randyf3

Post by randyf3 »

Thank you very much for the information!
Do you know if they offer private lessons, or only public courses?
Either way, I appreciate the information very much.

ragam-talam

Post by ragam-talam »

Please check out this website also: http://chandrakantha.com/teachers/teach ... erala.html
Only a few of the people are based in Trivandrum - they may be able to guide you to a tabla teacher.
Best of luck; do let us know if you found a good teacher!

randyf3

Post by randyf3 »

Thanks!
I'm here now and finally on-line and able to start contacting people.
I'll keep you guys posted...

randyf3

Post by randyf3 »

Thanks to all of you, especially mohan. I'll be attending my first tabla lesson today at the Tharinganisari Music School here in Trivandrum.

hindolam

Post by hindolam »